Tuesday, 18 June 2013

Briercliffe 10 18/06/2013 - Evening Series Round 9 - Report

The long forgotten sensation that is "summer" returned for Round 9 of the 2013 Briercliffe 10 series, which witnessed overcast but warm and still conditions. It promised to be a good evening for racing and 18 riders came out to try their luck against the clock.

Ryan Witchell continued to impress and clocked the fastest time of the evening with a 23:31, which is his best around the challenging Briercliffe 10 course.

The next four places were separated by just 14 seconds and with seasoned fast man Andrew Herbert sportingly getting off his bike half way round (to put his chain back on) it was James Gomm who edged out Herbert by just a second to take second and third places respectively.

The promise of a fast night was delivered with a total of six riders posting course bests.

Congratulations to Ryan Witchell, James Gomm, Nick Hickman, Jon Traynor, Jon Roots and Liz Roots who will all now be chasing new targets for the rest of the season.

Once again thanks goes out to James Spence for timekeeping.

James will be eyeing a return to time trialling in the near future, so a new system to share time keeping responsibilities will be implemented soon (details T.B.C). Assisting James were Nigel Wilson and Nick Senechal.

Please note that there will be no time trail next week (25/06/2013) as we will be saying goodbye to our friend and club mate Clive Collins. 

Instead Round 4 of the David Gudgin 26 series will take place on Tuesday 2nd July 2013 pending approval form the relevant authorities (details T.B.C)

R Witchell 23.31, J Gomm 24.35, A Herbert 24.36*, S Doyle 24:43, B Wilson 24:49, N Hickman 25:33, M Webb 26:59, J Traynor 27:35, D Summerell 30:10, W Richards 30:26**, S Smith 30:33, D Rossall 32:24.

*inc mechanical
** off course

Guest Riders
D Wetherill (Trisports) 26:45, J Izzo (BRCC) 27:04, N Richards (Unatt) 28:22, J Roots (BRCC) 28:35, D Rickles (Un) 28:48, L Roots (BRCC - W) 31:01