Saturday, 2 June 2012

Open 25 Preview - 02 June 2012

Today (Saturday 2nd June) sees multiple national champion Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) take on a select field of fifty riders on a sporting 25 mile circuit course based around Guilden Morden, Cambridgshire. Seeded riders include Ross and Luke Clarke (both Team Milton Keynes), Ian Cammish ( Citec/ Tufo) and Russell Hampton (Club Raleigh GAC).

Local rivalries between Hitchiin Nomads CC, Icknield RC, Beds Roads CC, CC Ashwell and Welwyn Wheelers will be renewed,with Andrew Herbert, Ben Wilson, Tim Davies and Jason Stuart reportedly being the in form men to watch. Several families will either be united or divided in their loyalties for an hour or so today, with the Clarkes and Wilsons no doubt contending for bragging rights in the HQ over cakes and tea. It could be a long drive home for some.

The ladies competition sees Joanna Spragg (Aylesbury CC) be the first on course with Helen Boatman (Team Milton Keynes) and Shusanah Pillinger (Verulam CC) taking to the start some thirty minutes later. Team Milton Keynes will be early favourites for the team prize although seven teams in total will be in the mix.

Weather in the area is currently drizzly which will mean that any winning ride will need to be measured to the conditions.

Race report to follow.

The event details (course, HQ and start sheet) are available here.