Saturday, 9 March 2013

Spring Hilly 2013 Results

The Nomads' time trial season kicked off on with the Spring Hilly race which takes in two laps of the Whitwell road race circuit. The sporting course features a series of technical climbs and descents with riders topping out their maximum speeds as they enter Whitwell.

The weather conditions were cold and overcast but it did nothing to dampen spirits as riders braced themselves for another year of competition. Nick Hickman and Nick Senechal claimed sub-hour times and less than two minutes separated Jon Traynor, Nigel Wilson and Clive Collins. Chris Pearce of CC Ashwell also went under the hour.

Simon Doyle held on to top spot to repeat his victory of 2012. Strong performances were also posted by Team SalesEngine riders with Sam Hayes carrying his form from the North Road Hardriders over in to the Nomads event. Steve Robinson and Paul King (in team time tiral mode) rode strongly and at one stage were engaged in a ding-dong battle with Doyle on the Codicote Road section of the course. Despite King suffering a puncture with a couple of miles to go, the pair were still very close to the magic sub-50 minute mark.

Frank Turner officiated and also provided post race sustenance and coffee.

Results - Spring Hilly 09/03/2013
S Doyle 50.21, , N Senechal 59.11, N Hickman 59.41, J Traynor 1.05.56, N Wilson 1.06.04, C Collins 1.07.05.

Guest Riders
S Hayes TSE 48.21, S Robinson and P King TSE (2up) 50.37, C Pearce CCA 58.08.